top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's picturejaneyleonardmyers

Half Way Through!

Updated: Jul 24, 2019

I am now exactly half way through my Twelve charity challenges and I have genuinely enjoyed every one, however, I might not want to do a 3mile swim again, that was very long and extremely cold.

The support of my friends and family through donations, cards of support or having them join me on the challenge has been the most wonderful & moving experience. Together, we have pushed ourselves out of our comfort zone, supported each other and raised money together to beat cancer.

I lost my mum to breast cancer when I was ten, it was devastating not to have her growing up but I think it is even harder not having her around now that I am older. There is nothing I would love more than to go for a glass of wine and have a chat with her, which makes me realise it really is the little things in life you need to cherish.

Cancer seems to be this ever growing force, sweeping people up in it's path and it is hard not to feel overwhelmed and scared by it. We need to give ourselves the best chance by leading a healthy life, being aware of our bodies, getting regular checks and continue to raise money for these amazing charities; Manchester Beats Cancer and Cancer Research because they are constantly improving and finding new ways to beat it.

Quick synopsis of the challenges so far.... 1. 10km Aussie Island Run - Running on deep sand is virtually impossible but saw a giant turtle. 2. Rock climbed the height of the Burj Khalifa - Who knew you could get blisters on blisters? 3. 3hrs Bootcamp - There are some very fit & highly competitive MCR businesses *We Are Adam* 4. Yorkshire 3 Peaks with my oldest friends - Too many snack stops but completed it sub 12hrs! 5. 3miles swim with Liv - Lost feeling in toes, nearly lost count of my laps, don't want to do it again 6. 100km Bike ride with Pete - Used a new bike, there wasn't nearly enough padding on seat!

Click here https://janeytwelve.wixsite.com/twelve to see which ones are coming up, would love it if you could join me! And finally, a HUGE thank you to everyone who has donated, we have raised £3,015 so far!!!

145 views0 comments
bottom of page